The Magic Notepad

Supercalifajilisticshfhdohvohvoho, well hello there! I’ve started with gibberish because it’s a great way to start a long winded post like this so sit on yeh bike and have a read. I’m just going to go straight in with my words of wisdom. 

So many of us go through phases of our lives where we think that we’re not going where we want to be, how much time we have wasted and we end up feeling sort of rubbish about ourselves. We also have the best days ever and we go through strange encounters on a day to day basis.

Sometimes we don’t have words to explain how we feel or we don’t really want to talk about it. It’s hard to explain to someone what you’re feeling when you don’t even know. That’s where my tiny book comes in. I bought this writing pad from the Lowry Outlet about two months ago.

I didn’t really do anything with it, I just knew that I wanted to have it there (I sort of hoard things like this). Now last month, I felt a mix of emotions. Stress, sadness, happiness, you name it. I didn’t know how to talk it, so instead I wrote it in my book.

Since then, I have carried this with me especially when I’m feeling weird in the morning like I’m ready to have a bad day. When I’m on my way to university or anywhere in fact, I’ll put my earphones in and write. My plans, my feelings and whatever comes to my head. I’ll doodle or I might just read what I have already written in it.

(I like this idea because it’s a space almost; if you want to treasure a memory then in it goes. It doesn’t need to be something you do constantly, just whenever you want to.)

Keeping a pad like this can actually help you because you’ll know how you’re feeling and you can keep track of how you’re doing. You also begin to accept that it’s okay to feel sad some days and even if you don’t feel like talking about it, you can write about it.

I’m not saying that it’s better to not talk about the way you feel but I’ve definitely benefited from this idea of writing and doodling whatever comes to my head when I’m on the bus or when I’m taking a break from revision or work.

I would recommend this to anyone because I have really benefitted from this and you never know, a tiny pad in your bag might bring back really good memories or just the tiniest things.

Give me a shout if you give it a try and tell me how it goes!

Shafia.

 

 

Leave a Reply

